Hey friends, we’re back with another special edition of #YourNudeOnStory. Today, we sit down and chat with Mike, a 70-year-old longtime naturist and fellow blogger from southeast England. A friend of our page for some time, let’s learn about Mike’s experience with the clothes-free way of life.

So I understand you’ve been a nudist for quite some time—how did it all start for you, what drew you into nudism/naturism in the first place?
I’m now 70 and consider I’ve been a nudist/naturist since I was about 17. I sort of stumbled into it, when I visited a stretch of beach called Formby nr. Liverpool and happened to see a couple strolling by the shore naked – that did it for me off came my trunks and I spent a blissful day paddling and sunning naked. It was the freedom from covering any of me and from that day I was hooked! I must admit I could see no reason why we should be constrained by clothes and I stated to buy HE magazine marveling at the bodies within, naked in all sorts of places. I continued to be naked outdoors whenever and wherever I could be and indoors – I threw out my P’J’s and slept naked and have done ever since.

What reactions did you get when people found you were a nudist?
I got married at 21 and my wife embraced the lifestyle we went to naturist beaches in this country and abroad and to resorts like Euronat in France and raised our 2 daughters without body shame, though they’ve gone and got families of their own and are too busy to bother about the naturist life! I did get in a spot of bother on 2 occasions when someone complained about my outdoor nudity and I got a visit from the Police but no prosecutions just a warning to be more careful!

Do you have any special place(s) you like to go where you can enjoy yourself and just be nude? What are some of your favorite things to do?
I love to go for nude walks in our lovely countryside and whilst I carry a cover-up I don’t rush to put it on if come across another walker and have only had a couple of negative reactions usually a cheery good day suffices! It is legal in England to be naked in public if there is no intention to alarm or distress. I mostly always am nude at home I find doing housework and cooking and decorating is best done naked. I dress for certain visitors quite a few are comfortable seeing me as I am.

How do you feel sharing your nudist/naturist way of life has made an impact on you and others you may know?
I think with the growth of Social Media it has been possible to see how many naturists there are all over the world and connect with them, and also to share the lifestyle with “textile” people and I think to show myself as I truly am, warts and scars and all should give some confidence to others who are thinking about naturism and maybe too shy to try!
Unfortunately my wife had a severe stroke some years ago and cannot talk walk and has to have soft foods so I now care for her and we cannot go out to beaches, etc., so Social media is my main contact with other naturists. The carers that come in to assist my wife’s personal care are quite ok with me being naked, they’ve seen it all before!

What advice would you give a non-nudist who’d seem willing to try nudism/naturism?
I would say to anyone thinking of trying it, just go naked at home for a full 24 hours, then find a nude beach or look for a naturist group, swim or club there are lots and give it a go! There is nothing better than being naked on a warm day better than sweating and totally natural!

Thanks for joining us, Mike—I truly admire your dedication to naturism. You can also check out Mike’s blog called Naturalian, give it a look. Friends, if you’re interested in sharing #YourNudeOnStory with us, be sure to DM @teamcloptzone on Twitter, I would love to talk with you about your experience as a naturist to share on our blog, as part of our mission of spreading the positive word about clean, wholesome nudism/naturism and body acceptance. The better we band together as fellow naturists, the stronger we can be about showing the world how natural and truly normal nudism/naturism really is, and in turn I feel it can become more accepted and more people will be willing to join the clothes-free way of life. So #NudeOn friends, together WE ARE #TeamClothingOptional.

