In this edition of #YourNudeOnStory, we talk to our buddy Harmen from The Netherlands, a good friend of this page for a good couple years now. Many of you know his “Bare Thoughts” blog or may have purchased one of his naturism-positive shirts or coffee mugs from his 2Bare2Wear store—well, let’s actually get to know Harmen a bit and learn about his experience with nudism/naturism.

What drew you into naturism in the first place? The mutual respect and harmony that’s connected with this lifestyle. It’s one of a kind.

What reactions did you get when people found out that you were a nudist/naturist?
Most of the people that are close to me like family and friends reacted surprised but respected me for doing it. Most of them did mention “as long as you don’t confront me with it “. What I obviously respected. Some colleagues laughed and made jokes about (which tells more about them then about me). But all and all the reactions were all pretty positive.

What do you enjoy most about taking your clothes off? The feeling of freedom and being connected with your surrounding. It always feels like a punishment to get dressed after a full day being nude.

How do you feel your life journey has really excelled since you’ve made the decision to become part of this great lifestyle?
Oh, for me it really was a life changer. If I didn’t have naturism in my life, I wouldn’t be the man I am today. It’s hard to specifically say “that’s the thing that made it all happen”, because naturism has so many great things to add to your life. But that it changed my life forever in the best way possible…that’s a fact for sure.

Now you’ve had a store in the past called 2Bare2Wear, which you’ve since closed due to other life commitments, and I also think it’s great how you have a blog now called “Bare Thoughts”, and have openly shared your naturist experiences through words and pictures about your life as a naturist at home and out, and have done a great job at it so far, I gotta say. I’m curious to know, what made you decide to start these pages in the first place?
First of all, let me say I’m happy to see that you appreciate the blog. When it comes to the web shops, I was looking for a cool shirt referring to naturism so I could express myself in the textile world. When I couldn’t find one that I like I decided to design one myself. I already had a webshop before for my GTA online crew, so I knew how easy it was to set something up. So I did. That it would expand to 8 shops total was a surprise for me as well. Never did it for the money though. Always did it for the message. To show what naturism is and try to delete the taboo and misunderstandings around it. I owned them for 1.5 years, but when I started my blog in August of 2016 I realized that the message was getting spread way faster that way. So I decided to put all my focus on the blog and close the shops. The message was too important for me and for the existence of naturism.

What are some of your favorite activities to do in the buff? I love to swim, I could do that all day. Also simply relaxing in the grass or doing the normal stuff at home. Actually I like to do everything I the buff haha.

Where are some of your favorite special places you like to go in the nude? I’ve visited naturist resort Flevonatuur in the Netherlands for 10 years now. We also discovered a nude beach near our home, which I described in my latest blog, which could be a great candidate for a second favorite place.

How do you feel sharing your naturist way of life has impacted you and others around you? I think it did a lot. Every month I get messages or emails that our blogs helped people with opening up about this life style. It gives them strength, courage and self respect. I’ll keep this doing for as long as I can only because of those messages.

And finally, what advice would you give a non-nudist curious to try nudism/naturism? Just do it. You won’t regret it.

Harmen, thanks for joining us—I’ve said it before, you’ve been a big inspiration for me as well in my naturist journey. Keep it up. If you’re interested in following Harmen’s blog, you can check out his blog here.

Friends, if you’re interested in sharing #YourNudeOnStory with us, be sure to DM @teamcloptzone on Twitter or Team Clothing Optional on Tumblr, I would love to talk with you about your experience as a naturist to share on our blog, as part of our mission of spreading the positive word about clean, wholesome nudism/naturism and body acceptance. The better we band together as fellow naturists, the stronger we can be about showing the world how natural and truly normal nudism/naturism really is, and in turn I feel it can become more accepted and more people will be willing to join the clothes-free way of life. So #NudeOn friends, together WE ARE #TeamClothingOptional.

happy and free harmen

